I never entered that crappy title. I chose a completely different one, which was then changed by some admin. I added a new HN entry about this incident:
I suspect this kind of thing happens with other companies, but can only speculate.
Somewhat related: chicagovps gave me a 'fresh' gentoo vps, and the default provided root password was identical to the original one from several months ago. I assume it is one gentoo image with the same password (for all customers)?